PDA

View Full Version : Disney with a 2 year old?

snowflakegirl
12-22-2014, 10:45 AM
I've made several trips to Disney World, both as a child with my family and since I've been an adult. The last was in 2010 to introduce my (then) boyfriend to the Magic. We had a WONDERFUL trip and began planning a trip with another couple for sometime in the future. Fast forward 4 and a half years and he and I have since married and now have an 18 month old. The other couple we were planning a trip with also have a 21 month old. Hence the delay in our plans. We've finally decided that our Christmas present to each other this year is a trip to Disney in August (yes, it has to be summer because I work in a school system and costwise August is affordable versus our spring vacation). It will be our family (with our then 2 year old son), our friends (with their then almost 2 and a half year old daughter), my parents and possibly my friend's parents.

I am pretty good at planning Disney vacations and tend to be the planner for my family and friends vacations even when I'm not going. But I've never done Disney with toddlers (or with a group this big; definitely 8, possibly 10-12).

Any suggestions for ways to make it a great experience for all of us? I definitely know that we need to slow it down and take it at our kids' pace (and despite always having been a go, go, go kind of visitor, I'm actually looking forward to being able to slow down and spend time at the playgrounds etc and watching my son explore), but any other pieces of advice?

Also, it'll have been 5 years since our last trip. I know there have been some big changes since then (new Fantasyland, magic bands, etc). Anything that I should make sure to see/do, anything that I should definitely know going in?

Thanks,
Jen

faline
12-22-2014, 10:50 AM