PDA

View Full Version : Going to Disney after a Death

4disneynuts
11-12-2014, 01:35 PM
We are to arrive at Disney World on Sunday the 16th. My sister-in-law committed suicide 2 days ago. It was my husbands only sister and it was a shock. My husband and I are traveling with our two daughters and their spouses and our new granddaughter. I told my husband we could cancel but he insists that we still go and says it will be good for us.

My question is has anyone else gone to Disney World very shortly after a death. We all have heavy hearts and I feel so sad. Did it help you to be there and was there something in particular that helped you not feel so sad?

Thank you!

PawleyPlatoon
11-12-2014, 01:58 PM
Hi,

I'm a church organist and part of my job is playing for funerals. I have been doing this for over 30 years. If I've learned anything, it's this: different families grieve in different ways. There are no "correct" ways of grieving.

Also, I would go along with your husband as it is his sibling who has passed while making sure that the vacation at this point is really what he wants. You know him better than anyone.

I would also think about how your memories of this trip would be for you and the entire family. Again, only you know the answer to that.

I hope you can make the best decision for yourself and your family. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.
Psalm 34:18

Katzateer
11-12-2014, 02:18 PM
I hope you can go and enjoy your trip.

We had a funeral a few months ago 3 days before a wedding. The cousin that died suddenly was like a mom to her niece that got married (the mom of the niece had passed away when she was in grade school and the aunt was the main adult that raised her and her younger sibling). Even with it being so difficult, the decision was made to have the wedding and party at the reception like the cousin woud have wanted.