PDA

View Full Version : Does "No tables available" mean no availability at all?

mickeyandelsa
10-16-2014, 04:21 PM
So, I'm a newbie, I didn't know people could and do make dining reservations decades in advance.

I've tried to make reservations for my Nov. 29 - Dec 7 trip to no avail. If I want to go to, say, Be Our Guest, can I still wait in line to dine there? If so, how long are the lines?

This is crazy :-)

NewDVCowner
10-16-2014, 04:44 PM
Unfortunately you won't be able to get into Be Our Guest without a reservation - but keep checking. Sometimes things come up. For my last trip nothing was available for Be Our Guest at 180 days out but I checked back on a daily basis and eventually was able to get reservations for 5 people at 6:00.

Other restaurants may or may not take walk ups - but generally only at the beginning of the meal service time. You won't be able to do any sort of walk up at 6:00 for dinner, unfortunately.

You might have better luck looking for reservations outside of the park. In fact, I find that the food is better at resort locations than in the park itself. Again, though, if there's any place that you really want to eat keep checking back to see if anything has become available. People do cancel their reservations.

savafan
10-16-2014, 05:06 PM
Definitely keep checking. At 2 weeks out, I was able to get reservations for Be Our Guest, Chef Mickeys, Sci Fi Dine In, and Cinderella's Royal Table all within the last week.

SBETigg
10-16-2014, 05:09 PM
There are exceptions like Be Our Guest and 'Ohana in which no tables available does tend to mean absolutely no luck. But for many venues, you can try your luck at the podium and it might work out.

There are several times for me that No Tables Available showed up online or on the app but we were seated after showing up at the restaurant. I wouldn't count on it or make a special trip hoping to get lucky but if you happen to be in the area and you are interested, it never hurts to ask in person.