PDA

View Full Version : When is Spring Break?

BriarRose
01-28-2014, 03:35 PM
It's been a while, in fact last time we went was Oct/Nov 2008!

We are going to be celebrating my husband's 45th birthday in February 2017 and our 25th anniversary in March 2017, one week apart, and have decided to go back! We have only gone in October, November, and December in the past so I have no knowledge of the crowds at that time of the year.

Does anyone know when Spring Break is usually being celebrated? We are thinking of travelling from February 23rd through March 9th, 2017 to cover both occasions.:party2:

minnie04
01-28-2014, 04:04 PM
I know it varies from state to state, but I think you should be ok with the dates you are going. I think most of them start mid-March thru April (Easter) weekend.

joonyer
01-28-2014, 05:52 PM
There is no such thing as a coordinated spring break. Different school systems, even within the same state, have a "spring break" at different times. When you factor in colleges and universities, spring break can be happening anytime from the beginning of March through the end of April. And of course, Florida (and WDW) is a popular destination for many of those folks on holiday. Just be prepared for crowds anytime during the spring. There's really no particular week that you can count on to avoid spring break crowds during that time of year.

faline
01-28-2014, 07:30 PM
Basically, there is a spring break season which runs, roughly, from Presidents' Day Week through Easter week. During that period, different states close their schools for spring break as do different colleges. It's hard to predict crowd levels as you really don't know all the schools which will be closed any given week and how many folks form the closed school areas will decide to travel to Disney World. Easter week also moves from year to year so you have to check the dates for that.