PDA

View Full Version : My MagicBand/FP+ experience

Hammer
10-13-2013, 10:48 AM
As I mentioned in my pre-trip report, I am a software engineer for Comcast. I lead 3 test teams for identity login for Comcast partners. An example is if you subscribe to HBO through Comcast, you receive HBO2Go as part of your package. I make sure you can login and use HBO2Go with your Comcast login. I give this background so you understand that when I agreed to be part of the test group for the new program, I knew what I was getting into and expected glitches. I explained to my Mom and sister as best I could, but they fully admit they do not understand the ins and outs of my job :D .

My sister and I did have glitches with our APs on the magic bands. My sister did have the deactivation problem for her AP, which was fixed the next morning (she experienced the problem at Evening EMH).

Charging on the magic bands does not work correctly if you want to use more than 1 credit card. We have always had our personal credit card linked to our individual KTTW card. It let us do that at check in for the magicband, but I wisely checked the night before checkout and it did not filter the charges to each account, though each credit card was linked to the band. They had to manually go through and put the charges on the respective card (the bill did show who made each charge). I mentioned that needed to be fixed as I'm sure this is common with DVC reservations where extended families vacation together.

There are updates which I think they need to make to the FP+ program. You are not able to cancel just one Fastpass using the mobile app. We wanted to cancel just 1 of our fastpasses and keep the others and could not. I was able to cancel all of our fast passes the last full day as we had been able to ride those rides at DHS earlier in the trip.