PDA

View Full Version : Feeling a Litte Down...(Job Related)

PirateLover
08-06-2013, 05:33 PM
I want to preface this by stating that I know there are many people out there who have it much worse than I do, but I've been finding it more and more difficult to stay positive lately. Mainly it has to do with finding a full time job.

Some of you know I am a teacher-my school closed in June of 2012 and I decided to finish my Masters degree full time and take a part time job in education if I could find one (which I did).

Here I am, almost at the end of the journey as I finish my thesis and things aren't much better. I've sent out plenty of resumes with very few bites. Then, suddenly, In the last two months, two great schools contacted me for openings. Bother were schools I had "ins" with, that I would love to work at, and where I would easily "fit in." I got a rejection letter from the first ("you are very qualified but there was someone more qualified") and an "If you don't hear from us by Tuesday, we went a different way" from the second. Well, today was Tuesday and no call. :(

I have applied to a lot of other jobs including museum jobs. I did have a phone interview with one that I thought went great, but then never heard back. (And yes I do follow up with thank yous after I interview).

I am a hard worker with a great personality, but I recognize the job market (and the teacher market in particular) in my area is over-saturated, which is why I've been branching out and looking at other ways to use my degrees in History, English, and teaching.

I know I just have to keep trying and that eventually I will find something but it's extra discouraging to not land a job at a place where I really thought I'd be a good fit, and when I'm starting to get a little disillusioned with the part time job I'm stuck with in the meantime....