PDA

View Full Version : Laptops- Need Advice

DVC2004
04-30-2013, 11:07 AM
Well, our laptop inexplicably stopped working over the weekend. We can sign in and then it takes a long time but nothing comes up but a blue screen. Husband thinks the RAM is fried. I have no idea. He's going to make a few calls but probably we will have to replace it.

We have always had Dell laptops. We don't watch movies or steam much video. We never listen to music on it. We use it mostly for web surfing and then for school work and a little business here and there.

My husband is thinking about a Mac book. I really am not sure if it's worth the price for what we use it for. Also- and this is ignorant probably but I am not a techie at all- how is it for compatability when you need to use Microsoft programs like Word, Excel,Power Point? Could I open these items, create documents, or does Apple have their own similar programs?

I think for what we use it for we would probably be better off just getting another $500 Dell. We do have an ipad which we love but we can still use that for surfing the web and apps.

VWL Mom
04-30-2013, 11:50 AM
My husband is thinking about a Mac book. I really am not sure if it's worth the price for what we use it for. Also- and this is ignorant probably but I am not a techie at all- how is it for compatability when you need to use Microsoft programs like Word, Excel,Power Point? Could I open these items, create documents, or does Apple have their own similar programs?

Microsoft does have Office for MAC, if I remember it was about $135 for the Student/Teacher edition.

Reedy Creek Buccaneer
04-30-2013, 02:35 PM
Once you go MAC you won't go back! Buy an Apple!

Kenny1113
04-30-2013, 04:47 PM
I love my MacBook Pro, it is user friendly. As previously mentioned you can get a Microsoft office package for Mac.

SBETigg
04-30-2013, 06:39 PM