PDA

View Full Version : Stay Away from Hertz if possible

NJGIRL
10-17-2012, 08:20 AM
I have been renting car for our vacations for the last 25 years and sometimes they can be a real pain to deal with. They change their prices day to day just like the airlines. I have used all of the major companies from one time to another and never had a problem with getting the price I was guaranteed during booking until this past August. To make a very long story short, we booked a car for 10 days out of Salt Lake City Airport with Hertz. When all was said and done we had to pay an additional $50! It was not because of extra taxes, extra hours, or anything we did wrong. They changed the rental rate on us. I tried to get it taken care of with hertz customer service when I got home, but got no where. I am currently working with my credit card company, but their help is falling short. They basically contact Hertz and tell them we are disputing and if Hertz still does nothing, it is dropped.

I won't rent from them again. Just a warning to everyone...Hertz prices are not a guarantee even when you have it in writing.

BrerGnat
10-17-2012, 08:31 AM
I have heard these types of stories about every rental car company.

Hertz does guarantee that the Rental Rate will not change. If you have the original confirmation that has your rental rate in writing, and then a copy of your final bill showing a different rate, that should suffice for your credit card company (and even Hertz themselves). They do leave it open for "additional fees or taxes", though, so as long as you're sure that was not where the extra money came from...