PDA

View Full Version : Baking With INTERCOT

Scar
12-21-2011, 02:58 PM
I guess the "Cooking" thread hasn't been around for awhile so...

I'm a decent cook for basic stuff but I've never had any desire to bake. Yesterday I had an odd desire to bake brownies. I like moist fudge like brownies so I got Pillsbury fudge brownie mix and followed the instructions to a T (not difficult. ;)) Well, they weren't really moist or fudge like. They're good, but just regular dry brownies.

Any advice from expert bakers out there? I'll do it from scratch but would rather try another mix maybe with altering the instructions. :shrug:

Dulcee
12-21-2011, 03:23 PM
I love, love, love to bake and while some things can be doctored from mixes, I've never felt brownies to be one of them. This is my go to recipe. It's from Alton Brown and it without a doubt serves up lovely thick fudgy brownies time and time again.

It's also just as easy as a boxed mix. My only words of wisdom, if you want nicely cut brownies you have to wait for them to cool. We however usually scoop them hot with some vanilla ice cream because we can't resist temptation :thedolls:

Ingredients

Soft butter, for greasing the pan
Flour, for dusting the buttered pan
4 large eggs
1 cup sugar, sifted
1 cup brown sugar, sifted
8 ounces melted butter
1 1/4 cups cocoa, sifted
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup flour, sifted
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Butter and flour an 8-inch square pan.

In a mixer fitted with a whisk attachment, beat the eggs at medium speed until fluffy and light yellow. Add both sugars. Add remaining ingredients, and mix to combine.

Pour the batter into a greased and floured 8-inch square pan and bake for 45 minutes. Check for doneness with the tried-and-true toothpick method: a toothpick inserted into the center of the pan should come out clean. When it's done, remove to a rack to cool. Resist the temptation to cut into it until it's mostly cool.

VWL Mom