PDA

View Full Version : Help Buying Computer

Scar
12-19-2011, 11:31 AM
My friend has enlisted me to find a computer for him to buy. He knows nothing about computers and I only know a little and have personally never picked one out myself (I'm still on my second one in 17 years.) Anyway, He only needs it for internet access, nothing else. He wants to pay as little as possible and super high speed is not important, although he doesn't want to wait 10 seconds for a page to open either. He has regular cable with a modum (roomate moved out and took computer.)

So, if anyone can help with stuff like brand, store or online, and really anything else, it would be appreciated. Thanks.

Itchy
12-19-2011, 12:37 PM
First of all I am not an expert but here is what I recommend.

I would go to some place like best buy and just look at the various type they have.

Does he / she want a laptop, tower pc, tabletop, or all in one?

They will will have everything that you can imagine. I have an inexpensive laptop ( ACER ) and it does everything that I want.

Be sure to get one with alot of RAM memory, this is what makes the system work fast. I would recommend no less that 3 gig of ram.

Most out of the box system do not have any word processing software so they may want to consider getting MS word.

Having said that I think with a little looking and time you can find the right fit..

I found my laptop which was a display, no box or instructions for less than $300.

Oh! make sure that it runs on windows 7 and not VISTA.

Hope this helps...:mickey:

dnickels
12-19-2011, 12:48 PM
If that's all they want, why not get something used from ebay or craigslist? Even the most basic bare-bones new laptop is going to run $300-$400. A quick look at craigslist (at least in my area) shows plenty of used working laptops for $75-$100.

DizneyRox
12-19-2011, 01:00 PM