PDA

View Full Version : Purchasing an ECV

tltcats
11-13-2011, 04:41 PM
Disney is gouging those who need ECV's $70 a day. (I'm sorry to sound so negative, I am a Disney nut...see below.... but I just think that taking advantage of those who NEED wheelchairs/ECV's, whatever to enjoy the parks is really unethical.) SOOOOO, I'm trying to find out how/where/if/issues relating to purchasing an ECV. For more details - read below.

I know that most rent the ECV's either on a daily basis or longer from local companies or Disney. My mom has a fused hip/knee/ankle (cannot bend any of those joints) so while she can walk at home/around the house, extended walking is impossible, thus the need for the ECV. I've been buying and annual pass for the last 11 years and making multiple trips from IL to Mickey-land (known as "MAGICAL land/time" to my family and I. Although they're not quite as crazy as I, they've all seen the light and love visiting here. To make a long story short, i finally decided that I was spending too much time commuting and decided that I wanted to work and live closer to the Magic. We moved to Davenport, FL (just 10 miles from the Disney gate!). I'm now searching for a job and have already turned into the family Disney resort (free room and board!). My mom will be visiting regularly, so I'm thinking that rather than spending $500 or more a year to rent a scooter, over the long term it will make much more sense for her and dad to buy one and have me store it for her to use whenever she's here.

Itchy
11-13-2011, 05:30 PM
I would look locally for and ECV. If your parents are on medicare you may get them one for little or no cost. I have seen these commercials on TV.

It couldnt hurt. You could also look on the internet for information, but I would always deal with a local dealer as it would help reduce dealing with problems if any arose.

Hope this helps.:mickey:

Disney4us2
11-13-2011, 05:31 PM