PDA

View Full Version : A Whole New World-Pre-trip Report

DisneyRN
10-09-2011, 08:37 PM
Pre-trip report
I had been promising to take DD on a trip to thank her for putting up with all my studying, as I graduated back in May with my Master’s degree. Originally, we looked at New Orleans, as I am engaged and all extra money is being saved for our Hawaiian wedding next June. But, I got “that itch” sometime last month, and started looking at prices. My fiancé is still a Florida resident, so economically it made more sense to go to WDW, as the hotel alone was $350 then New Orleans. So, we changed plans… :thumbsup:

Cast of characters:

Me-Mary, 33, nurse, mom, fiance’, and WDW enthusiast. I’ve been to Disneyworld almost every year in the past decade, but I still want to go a thousand times more. :cloud9:

Fiance’- Jamey, 31, computer guru, future husband, step-dad. Jamey has only been to WDW once, so he isn’t quite sure what to expect, but he is excited.

DD- Abby, 8. She loves WDW as much as me! We technically are celebrating her 9th birthday while we are there, as it is the week after we get home. :cool:

We are staying at the Pop Century, and we have requested a room in the 90’s section, Bldg. 9. We want to be out of the way, and we are in a standard room. Hopefully, we will be near a parking lot, which was a goal, as we plan to drive as much as possible. I am a little skeptical of the Pop Century, because I have read some iffy reviews and had one bad experience with a Value resort. But, I am hoping for the best! :blush:

Jamey bought tickets from the Navy base that he works, as he is a DOD contract worker. We purchased tickets for MNSSHP for Tuesday, 10/11. Basically, we are hitting the four parks right in a row- MK, Epcot, DS, and AK. It is a very basic trip. I am used to park hopping and going from here-to-there, but definetly not doing that this trip. Another new one for me!