PDA

View Full Version : last minute surprise trip - POP newbie questions...

wdw_bound
09-10-2011, 05:31 PM
So excited, but have LOTS of questions. We are leaving in just over two weeks for a trip that only just came about this week. Got a great room-only pin, and have some days left on unexpired ticket.

I've stayed (and enjoyed) ASMo, but there was no availability, so we are giving POP a try - I've never even driven by it, so have no idea what to expect.

Any room suggestsions? I don't need a preferred, but I don't want to be at the back of beyond, either. I'm thinking a pool view would be nice.

How long does it take to drive from POP to the different parks? How is the food court? Healthy options at all?

I'm excited about the trip, but I've never done WDW so spur of the moment before - and don't want POP to be a dud for DH (he hasn't done a value before, but claims he will be fine as long as he has somewhere to put his head at night). I think the kids will like the theming, especially DS6.

Thanks for any help and advice!

Daisy'sMom
09-10-2011, 07:07 PM
POP is our favorite. The food court is great, and we have never had a room that seemed out of the loop. We like the fifties building but they all are nice. You don't share a bus either. We leave Thursday for a family reunion, all staying at POP. Have fun!:mickey:

brad192
09-10-2011, 09:20 PM
If you've stayed at ASMo, you pretty much know what to expect at Pop Century, although it is a MUCH larger resort!

I also recommend the '50's section, as it's away from the main pool, which can be noisy at times, and is only about a 3 minute walk to the main hall.

The food court is on par with ASMo, or maybe a cut above. It's definately bigger, with more choices. Be aware that it gets absolutely crazy for the morning breakfast rush. Eat early or late.

Rooms are pretty much copies of the All Stars. Clean, comfortable, with the basics.