PDA

View Full Version : Packing tips???

flipadeeflop
06-18-2011, 09:50 AM
This is my first time flying to Disney and I know ME has that amazing service where they take care of your checked bags for you!! I also booked with Jet Blue and they do the first checked bag free!! WOO!:thumbsup: I was still considering doing only carry ons. My boyfriend and I have huge hiking packs that MIGHT fit the carry-on size and I will also bring a large tote that fits the personal bag size. IF we do only carry-ons, we will need to figure some tight packing strategies. I think I'm going to buy some cheap rain ponchos that fit into a tiny package and small containers for my shampoo and conditioner instead of bringing the whole bottles (the ones at the resorts DESTROY my hair!)
Does anyone have any packing tips for taking up less room in your bag or just any packing tips in general? Thanks!!!!

kakn7294
06-18-2011, 10:18 AM
For carry-ons, remember that you can only take whatever liquids are in 3.4 oz or smaller bottles that fit in a 1 quart zipper baggie with 1 baggie allowed per person. Read on the TSA website for more info.

For packing tips, try rolling your clothing rather than packing it folded flat. Supposedly you can fit more in your luggage this way and it prevents many wrinkles - I've never personally tried it. Instead of packing them all in a stack, use underwear and socks to fill in gaps left by other clothing as you pack. You can also try to use the vacuum storage bags for packing although those generally work better for "fluffier" clothing like fleece and sweaters.

Also remember that if you purchase a snowglobe at WDW, it cannot be brought home in a carry-on so you would need to either check a bag or arrange for it to be shipped directly to your home for you.