PDA

View Full Version : Time for a new lap-top...advice please!

beksy
05-23-2011, 04:36 AM
I graduated from law school and after a year of use before school and three years of abuse in school, my computer has just about had it. I am constantly hitting control-alt-delete to get it unfrozen and the blue screens are killing me! My parents are going to get me a new laptop as a graduation present but I am not sure what kind to get. I have a Dell now and it has given me a lot of problems so I am thinking of going with a different brand. Any ideas? Also, I don't really know what specifications to look for when it comes to Ram, etc. I don't use it for gaming and only occassionally watch a movie on it so mainly but I do store a lot of photos, use the internet, Word, etc. What would you suggest looking at as I am searching? TIA!

DizneyRox
05-23-2011, 06:58 AM
I have nothing but good things to say about my Dell. I would probably say that your problems are related to malware or viruses than the hardware.

Reformatting the drive and installing Windows 7 is probably all you need frankly, however that will run you about a third of what you will probably spend on a new one.

Laptops are NOT a good storage device for photos. Drive space is usually limited as opposed to desktop drives, but neither should be used for long term storage, so invest in a backup solution at some point would be another piece of advice.

Now, to answer your question... You really can't go wrong with any that are out there for your use. I've found that a 14" screen is a sweet spot for laptops. Their size usually makes them pretty portable and the CPU in them are more than capable. Stay away from a desktop replacement which I consider anything larger than a 15" screen. They are heavy, which makes them not a laptop.