PDA

View Full Version : Buying a home...questions

Dulcee
02-16-2011, 03:53 PM
Alright I'm hoping you more experienced adults out there can provide some guidance

My Fiance and I are talking about the possibility of buying a home at the end of this coming summer when the lease of our apartment is up. Fiance is a new police officer (made it through the first month!) and I'm a paid graduate student. My credit is ok, his is a bit better and unfortunately I have a fair amount of student debt, about 30k. We're thinking that we could swing a home in the 80-100K range which in the area that we live in provides some pretty decent choices. Since were currently spending around 650 a month in rent I'd rather see that go towards equity in the future.

Anyway with all this thought we've been researching and there are lots of questions floating around.

1) I think an FHA loan is our best bet as were hoping to get by with a down payment of about 5K. Are FHA loans for all first time buyers? How does that work? Do FHA loans roll in closing costs or does that vary?

2) whats our first step? should we look for a mortgage pre approval before anything? And if thats the case how long are pre-approvals good for?

3) My fiancee being a state employee can join one of several credit unions in our area. We've heard they can offer better rates at times, is that true? and would us not yet being married affect our ability to do this?

I think those are the big ones, feel free to chime in with any other suggestions or tips.

Hammer
02-16-2011, 04:25 PM
Let me see- I agree about the FHA loan. That is how I bought my first home. To give you an idea what I qualified for- I am single, one income (I made a lot less when I qualified for the FHA loan than I make now), ok credit and 18K in student loans I was paying off. I qualified for 85K 10 years ago. Closing costs were rolled into the loan.