PDA

View Full Version : Help from deluxe resort experts, please!

McLiberal8
02-14-2011, 02:06 PM
Hey everyone!

My boyfriend and I are planning a trip to WDW in September.

I am the 'Disney expert' and this is his first time to the parks since he was 10 years old.

I have always been pretty low maintenance (would rather spend my money on food!) for my Disney vacays, so have always stayed at Pop Century. He would like to stay at a deluxe this time, which I am very excited about!

I have gone 'resort hopping' a few times, and like the feel of the Polynesian and the Contemporary, but wanted to look to the experts.

What are everyone's pros/cons of each deluxe resorts? What would you recommend, and why?

sassy2000
02-14-2011, 02:22 PM
I'm not an expert. Only stayed at Poly and AKL. We love both. Here are my thoughts on each:
Poly- Great resort! The grounds are beautiful. Not too may parking lot views.The location is fantastic. Being able to hop on the monorail to MK and Epcot is fantastic. Another plus is laying in a hammock on the beach, watching the fireworks. The music is piped in so you have a great view and still get to hear the music. The pool is alot of fun. The volcano slide was a big hit with my family. Food- 2 of the best restaurants, Ohana & Kona, are here. It was nice for us to be able to get back to our room to clean up a little for dinner and then just take a quick 5 minute walk to the restaurant.
Cons: Not many. The biggest for us was Capt Cooks counter service. Very small and gets very crowded in the morning especially. Some rooms do not have a balcony.

AKL- We stayed here during Christmas which was fabulous. The huge tree in the lobby was beautiful! The whole resort is absolutely gorgeous! We love animals so having the opportunity to watch them was great. We had a pool-view room on the 3rd floor. It was located on the corner of the main walkway so all we had to do was walk out of our front door to see the animals from the window next to us.