View Full Version : Deluxe Dining Plan

KennyandKim
12-31-2010, 07:59 PM
Has anyone found this to be worth it to their family? We are going in September 2011 and I was thinking about upgrading to Deluxe dining. Hopefully they will offer free dining again for our trip. We would hten just have to pay the difference. Im having trouble finding that it would be worth it since we are staying Club level. We are big eaters. My DH has to have breakfast every morning and we do a sit down meal for dinner each night. We find ourselves buying snacks while in the park OOP.

forever a child
12-31-2010, 11:48 PM
I have never used it before. But it seems to me it would really only be worth it if you planned on doing a lot of signature dinning. I have read a few posts here of others who have used it before...but not many.

Janmac
01-01-2011, 12:24 PM
After our January 2010 trip, when we found ourselves really enjoying our out of pocket sit down breakfasts (as opposed to the ones we made in our villa) we investigated the deluxe dining plan.

We looked at menus at info central for restaurants we like to eat at, selecting table service for breakfast and supper and counter service for lunches. We gave snacks a set cost of $4 to make things easier. Our last two trips we have used Garden Grocer for some items. When we noticed the fruits and the small sizes of Silk, etc., in the counter service restaurant at our resort, we figured we could use some of the snacks (2 a day could be a lot) for those items at the counter service and not make a Garden Grocer order.

When we got done with our figuring, we would save with the Deluxe Dining Plan, at least using 2010 prices, sometimes as much as $20 a day (depending on restaurants). An added reason for the dining plan is that some of our group just like using it. Since we use my sister's time share points to exchange into DVC, we're not talking free dining. When our next WDW trip finally rolls around (Sept 2012 at this time :( ), we'll find out.