PDA

View Full Version : Anyone out there with white flour and/or yeast allergies?

Dsnygirl
11-21-2010, 10:45 AM
So, I'm just beginning on my journey of figuring this all out, but from what I can tell of my reactions to food, the symptoms I've had (for years, in some cases...) and how I feel after certain foods, I believe I have an allergy to white four, and most likely also to yeast.

I am scheduling an appt with my internist for a physical, but to also address this and have allergy tests run to confirm it. I know not all tests are definitive, but at least it will be a start.

So, I wanted to ask if anyone else out there on these boards has something similar -- how you discovered it, what confirmed it and how you changed your lifestyle to accomodate it.

I've already been avoiding foods with white flour for awhile -- it took me awhile to figure out that the white flour in breads, cakes, doughnuts, etc., was the culprit for how I felt afterwards. And I was confused by the fact that very few of the cereals we eat bothered me -- until I realized that most of them were either whole grain, rice or corn based, no white flour at all. Nothing with whole wheat bothers me at all, thank goodness!!

But now, based on some of the research I've been doing after some disastrous responses to certain things (white wine, for one...) I'm beginning to see a relationship b/w my symptoms and certain foods, and am wondering if there is a yeast component, too. I get the headaches and runny nose, tiredness... but never tied them into a food allergy. (I also get the itchy throat, but just figured that was "bothersome", not a true allergy... :blush:)

So... just looking for feedback from anyone else who's dealing with this... it's always nice to get input & support, and then be able to give it back, as well! :)

Janmac
11-21-2010, 01:00 PM