PDA

View Full Version : Best time of year to Visit WDW

CanadaLovesDisney
11-06-2010, 10:39 PM
Looking to plan a trip but I want to avoid the time of year that have the cheerleading competitions, travel teams etc. Does anyone know what time of year those big groups typically go? I have heard (some) of them can be noisy.

DisneyFr33k
11-07-2010, 06:28 AM
I'm a teacher and think the times ours go is the Spring time. Correct me if I am wrong, those that know.

I love this time of year - October or November. The Food and Wine Festival is wonderful and the crowds are reasonable. But the weather can be nice - still able to swim.

Strmchsr
11-07-2010, 08:06 AM
Those groups really don't have much of an impact except at the All-Star resorts (especially Sports) and occasionally one of the moderates. They aren't a huge impact on the parks.

That said, if you're trying to avoid school groups, then eliminate December through May from your planning. There is something almost every single month, whether it be football (Pop Warner in December), cheerleaders in January, dance teams in February, and high school bands make trips to WDW constantly March-May. So, that would leave you June-November. June through October is generally pretty hot and also hurricane season so the "best" time would probably be early November.

JenniferS.
11-07-2010, 08:18 AM
If you can stand the heat and afternoon thunderstorms, the 1st week in Sept. is the best time to go. Very low crowds!!

ryca1dreams
11-07-2010, 08:37 AM
We've always gone in October for many reasons, but weather and lower crowds primarily.

We are looking at going next year in the first week of May. With Easter falling on the last Sunday in April, should crowds be lower by then? Also, Strmchsr, how are rain showers then - do they have a daily one or is it kind of hit and miss?

Wrigley
11-07-2010, 12:30 PM