PDA

View Full Version : Babysitting questions

Georgesgirl1
05-31-2010, 07:55 PM
I lost my job as a teacher in early May. I have found a part time job teaching church preschool, but it is going to be a significant cut in pay. DH says not to worry about it, he will just work extra hours if we need extra money. While that is sweet of him, I don't want to put everything on him. I am thinking about putting up signs at our church offering to babysit. The thing is, I would have to bring DS (17 months with me), unless the jobs are at times when DH is home.
My questions are: How much should an adult with a teaching certificate, first aid certification, clean driving record, etc. charge per hour? Would you hire someone if they had to bring their own child with them?

Dznygrl79
06-03-2010, 06:15 AM
I was in the same boat trying to earn cash for my wedding, I was a certified pre school teacher with all the extras from the red cross. I offered to sit for $10 an hour and had no complaints from parents. Good Luck during the summer it is a much needed service you should be busy!

princessgirls
06-03-2010, 01:28 PM
Sorry to hear about your job. I hope the babysitting works out. It can be a nice side income.

I pay my "adult" summer/school vacation babysitter (my girls are 8 & 9 now) $10 an hour. It's the same person that has done this since I've had my oldest. She does it in her home, takes them out during the day for swimming, etc. She has a few kids that come.

I figure, she is home with more than just my kids, and I pay her in cash and it's tax-free. She's probably making close to $80-$100 an hour figuring in the other kids that are there. Her college age daughter helps her.
Julie:mickey:

DizneyRox
06-04-2010, 07:28 AM
Babysitting is baby sitting... Honestly, all those certifications would mean nothing to me (might make you a better candidate) in regards to pay for a babysitter. $10 a hour seems fair.