PDA

View Full Version : Food Allergy Question

jennsky
05-12-2010, 08:39 AM
Hi guys,

Just wondering about when you make a reservation online, can you mention if someone in your party has a food allergy? My 1 year old seems to be allergic to sweet potatoes. Any time he has the slightest bit of sweet potatoes, he is violently ill the rest of the day. I would REALLY like to take the family to Cinderella's Castle for a meal, but after looking at the menus online, it seems lunch and dinner they serve Sweet Potato chips. So, I'm thinking Breakfast would be the best bet....but obviously there is still the potential for sweet potatoes to end up in the other food. They also appear to serve Potato Casserole at breakfast time which obviously we'll steer clear from too. I'm just new to the whole food allergy world and not sure what to do. Any one have some advice for me? Should I just avoid Cinderella's Castle all together for mealtime?

TheDuckRocks
05-12-2010, 10:31 AM
WDW is great with dealing with food allergies. Mention it when making your ADRs. Also check out the Disney website, they have info there. Also most servers will ask you if anyone has any. Very often a chef will come out to the table to discuss with you the problem you face and help you with getting something without the items to which you are allergic.

SurferStitch
05-12-2010, 12:52 PM
We saw the chef at 'Ohana come out to speak to a family about a food allergy at breakfast last week. The one boy in the family had the allergy, and the chef made it a lot of fun for him to choose exactly what he wanted. She was so friendly, and made sure he had total say in what he liked and disliked. You could see it made him and his parents very happy.

She also assured the parents that his food would be made in an area that had no contact with any of the items he was allergic to.

momef3grls
05-12-2010, 05:26 PM