PDA

View Full Version : Magical Express

SAnderson70769
12-02-2009, 06:26 PM
I'm a WDW veteran but just planned a spur of the moment trip for myself and my 6 yr old daughter and got cheap plane fares, passholder rates on POP for Dec 16th. We have ALWAYS rented a car in our many, many trips - have rarely only used the buses and monorail - please someone tell me that I'm not going to hate Magical Express getting to and from WDW and then relying on transportation - any thoughts from you NON-rental car folks or people that have experienced both?

Strmchsr
12-02-2009, 06:55 PM
I've done it both ways. I probably prefer my own car, but Magical Express is not bad at all and the WDW buses generally aren't too bad either. Certainly standing up on a bus is not as nice as getting in your own car to drive back to your room, but it's also nice not to worry about traffic or directions. You won't hate it at all. Just relax and enjoy it. :mickey:

BigRedDad
12-02-2009, 07:34 PM
Going on vacation for me is not having to drive. At least I can play that card for this next trip. After that one, I will probably be driving down.

Personally, I have no issue at all with the transportation. It is extremely efficient. There are little waits under most circumstances. If you are use to a car, prepare yourself with some delays you are not use to. This will keep your expectations in check.

faline
12-02-2009, 08:06 PM
I've driven to Disney World; I've flown and taken Mears shuttle (pre-Magical Express); I've flown and rented a car; I've flown and used a car service; I've flown and used Magical Express. In terms of convenience, I'd select:

1. Car service, like Quicksilver from the airport (pure luxury in my opinion)
2. Rental Car (Convenient but means I have to drive)
2. Magical Express (Free and works well but can be variable in experience)
3. Driving myself (only because my arrival comes after 24-27 hours on the road)
4. Mears Shuttle - crowded and inconvenient