PDA

View Full Version : New Songs for my class

Georgesgirl1
10-27-2009, 08:17 PM
As a pre-k teacher, I get sick of listening to only kids music at school. Don't get me wrong, there is a ton of good stuff out there, but sometimes I need a break and so do the kids. I occasionally break out my music on my i-pod and the kids love it. Hawaii Five-O, The Cha cha Slide, and Beat It are some class favorites. I am trying to think of more current music, classic rock, and/or oldies that would be appropriate for 4 and 5 year olds (meaning no bad words or suggestive themes). Any ideas out there???

sportsguy2315
10-27-2009, 09:25 PM
A list of my non-Disney favorites that I'd let kids jam out to:
Fireflies by Owl City
Do You Wanna Dance and Fun Fun Fun by the Beach Boys
You've Got a Friend by James Taylor
Rainbow Connection by Kermit the Frog
(Since y'all are from GA) Georgia on My Mind by Ray Charles
Beautiful Day by U2
Hockey Monkey by the Zambonis
Do Wah Diddy by Manford Mann
Mmmbop by Hanson
World by Five For Fighting
Upside Down by Jack Johnson

Albumwise, I'd recommend Charlie Brown Christmas for once it gets closer to the holidays for a jazzy rendition for the holiday tunes. It's the only Christmas CD that's on my iPod year round.

Tinkermom
10-28-2009, 09:59 AM
I know you are looking more for current music but...
Have you ever heard of Go Fish? They are a Christian group but also do non-christian songs. Their tagline is "Great music for kids that won't drive parents bonkers"! We love them and even had them perform at our church and our parents and kids LOVED them. I especialy love the "mom song". You can listen to it on their website. Google "Go Fish Guys". :)

TheDuckRocks
10-28-2009, 11:14 AM
Your post reminded me of my grandson's kindergarten teacher who taught her group of 5 year olds to sing "Paint It Black" by the Rolling Stones. Inappropriate but totally funny to hear and see these tiny kids rocking out.

ILoveLegos
10-28-2009, 12:06 PM