PDA

View Full Version : Any prophylactic "meds" out there for kids re: colds & flu??

Dsnygirl
10-16-2009, 04:58 PM
Just a quick question... although I'm a nurse, I can't seem to find any info on this, and I just thought of it... can't call the pediatrician & ask, as they're closed for the wknd... so I'll ask all of you, someone's bound to have the answer, or a bunch of different ones, at least!

Are there any medicines out there that children can take to ward of colds & flu?? There are so many for adults... Airborne and the like, even taking Echinacea for a few days before a trip. But on the bottles, etc., they're all listed for kids 12 and older.

My girls are 8 and 11, and have both had their flu shots (the seasonal flu, so far) but I'd still like to protect them like I can my DH and myself, esp. with what I'm reading about how widespread all the different flu strains are right now.

We usually take Airborne or Echinacea before our trips, but beyond the girl's vitamins, haven't gone beyond that for them, or even really worried about it.

But, we leave next Thursday, and to be honest, all the reports of illness at Disney have me a little more concerned than I'd normally be.

We have wipes and Purell and all that good stuff --

-- just wondering if anyone knows if there are meds that younger children can take before a trip to help boost their immune system like all the ones that are out there for adults.

:thanks: for any info you guys have!!

Strmchsr
10-16-2009, 05:24 PM
We normally give our boys 1 Emergen-C drink per day. Before and during a Disney trip we give 2 a day. It's 1000mg of vitamin C plus other immune boosters and is perfectly safe for children since their body just eliminates whatever they don't need. You can find that in Wal-Mart or Walgreens in the vitamin section.

Dsnygirl
10-16-2009, 05:34 PM