PDA

View Full Version : Pin Trading Etiquette -Has it gone downhill?

q105birdman
09-30-2009, 06:58 PM
Lately I have noticed a good number of guests (without any regard to age, sex, race, etc) exhibiting horrible pin trading etiquette. Examples include, but are not limited to, grabbing cast members' and MY lanyard, pointing at pins inside of one's personal space, cutting around cash register lines to ask a cast member to trade pins and pushing in front of me when I have asked a cast member permission to look at their pins. I started trading in September 2008 and it didn't seem as bad as it is now. What could be the reason for this? What other 'boundaries' have you seen stepped over? What can we as guests do to improve this behavior? It seems that cast members aren't very pro-active when it comes to situations like this. I've asked cast members about the brochures that explained the rules of pin trading. Apparently they are no longer available. What can we do? I'd love to hear from cast members about your feelings on pin trading, both positively and negatively. Thanks!!!

sisterdisco
09-30-2009, 08:03 PM
No problems noticed in August.
I did see a pin trading rules brochure though. Can't remember where I saw it......might have been at Downtown Disney?

tinksmom02
09-30-2009, 08:13 PM
I don't know that there's anything we can really do, except to lead by example. When my daughter wanted to trade pins (always with a CM, we never got into the whole asking other guests thing), I always made a point to have her ask nicely to see the pins. If there was one she liked, she would either name it, or point to it (without touching the pin). If she didn't see anything she wanted, she would say Thank you, anyway. If she wanted to see a cashier's lanyard, and the cashier was busy (I tried to steer her away from crowded cash registers), we would stand off to the side, so the CM would know we were there but it wasn't an urgent issue.