PDA

View Full Version : Confused Newbie here...

familyof5
08-30-2009, 01:42 PM
O.K. So I have a million questions, am confused, and I'm starting to feel overwhelmed about planning my family's first BIG vacation and first ever trip to DW.

THE SCOOP: There are 5 of us (kids 11,9,7) and we're traveling from WI in February 2010. We plan on taking 2.5 days to drive down, 1st night @ DW just take in the resort since we won't get to FL til late afternoon(possible PO-riverside...any comments?). We'll be staying 7 nights/6 days at the resort, 1 day to spend at the ocean, then back home.

We're on a tight budget, so we want to have a blast, but not go crazy spending money. We plan on bringing food & a microwave(already checked & the resort said this is fine). Plan on eating out a couple times each day. It seems everything is geared towards a family of 4...

Any ideas/comments to help me plan for a FUN & ECONOMICAL trip for a family of 5 are GREATLY appreciated!

Gregandmel
08-30-2009, 01:59 PM
First off :welcome:

I think your choice of POR is a good one since there is 5 in your family. There will be a TON to do at this resort from what I've read and I think you'll enjoy staying there.

It's VERY easy to spend a lot of $$ in Disney. Seems like no matter what you budget for all the little "extras" it's never enough! But you have a good plan with bringing your own snacks with you and it's a good idea to also bring several cases of bottled water with you. Bottled water in the parks are around $2.50 each and we drink a LOT. That can save some cash.

I'd save table service meals for special occasions and do more counter service meals. I've read that at some places you can order a double cheeseburger and request a 2nd bun and that way you basically can get 2 cheeseburgers for the price of 1. My husband and I usually split an entree because I"m not a huge eater anyways and I always end up "picking" at my youngest sons plate because he never eats everything anyways.