PDA

View Full Version : time crunch?

ananda
05-22-2009, 01:22 PM
I am a newbie to WDW. I am more excited than my kids (5 & 7) are because I have waited almost 36 years to go.:mickey: We are going on August 19th. Our flight gets in at 11:59am and we have reservations at the Crystal Palace for 3:30. Is that going to be too much of a rush? I heard that it takes a long time to get from the airport, to the resort and get checked in. Thanks.

faline
05-22-2009, 01:24 PM
Welcome to Intercot! :mickey:

Where are you staying and how are you getting from the airport to Disney?

ananda
05-22-2009, 01:25 PM
We are staying at the All-Star Music and we are taking the free shuttle thingy (remember, I am new to this).

faline
05-22-2009, 01:32 PM
That would be Magical Express. I'm guessing you will let Disney handle your luggage so will not need to stop at the luggage carousel to pick up your bags.

I'd count on 1-1/2 hours to get off your plane and get to Disney. Are you doing the advanced check-in? That might save you some time. Check-in desks at Disney tend to get quite crowdd particularly when several planes let off folks who are heading to popular resorts. I'd plan 1/2 - 3/4 hour to get checked in. Then, I always suggest that folks plan on 1 hour in travel time from start to finish. It could go much quicker than that. For example, a bus to the Magic Kingdom arrives just as you walk up to the bus stop but it could take quite a bit longer. Service tends to slow down a bit mid-day as there aren't as many folks who are traveling to parks and resorts at that time of day so bus wait time could be as much as 20-30 minutes if you've just missed a bus.

It's likely doable but 3:30 might be cutting it a little close particularly if you get delayed anywhere along the way such as a mid-afternoon thunderstorm impeding your landing or slowing traffic on the way to Disney.

wildernesslady
05-22-2009, 04:51 PM