PDA

View Full Version : Life insurance?

minnie-mouse
02-02-2009, 11:38 AM
Does anyone know a lot about life insurance and can help give suggestions to someone wanting to purchase life insurance? I wouls just like to know what I am talking about before I contact an agent? Anyone able to explain in "dummie" terms?

Ian
02-02-2009, 12:01 PM
I do ... I worked in the life insurance industry for 8 years for one of the largest insurance companies in the world (I won't mention it by name, but you may have allowed them to "Rock" your world at some point ;) ).

What do you need to know?

offwego
02-02-2009, 12:39 PM
are you looking for a glossary? I could look one up, but honestly if it's a good agent they will be happy to answer your questions..and if they aren't they didn't earn your business. good questions are far more important then having answers already.

Ian
02-02-2009, 02:02 PM
... if it's a good agent they will be happy to answer your questions..and if they aren't they didn't earn your business.Yeah, but if you don't know what you don't know how can you be sure you're getting good information from your agent?

Most insurance agents are fair and honest, but there's a decent percentage out there that will tell you anything to get your money.

Here's kind of the basics of life insurance ...

The two primary types of insurance are term and whole life. There are other types (variable life, universal life, etc.), but honestly they should pretty much be avoided.

Term life is exactly what it sounds like ... you pay your premium for a specified "term" (i.e. 10 years, 20 years, etc.) and for your premium the insurance company agrees to pay out some amount of benefit should you die during the term. If you don't die during the term, then generally you get nothing in return for your premium dollars (think auto insurance). Depending on the policy and how long the term was, you may get some modest amount of dividends returned to you, but that would be it.