PDA

View Full Version : Help for lost voice?

SandmanGStefani24
01-18-2009, 10:53 AM
I have been ill for a few days, and last night my voice went away. :( You never notice how much you use it until you can't. I have heard about the lemon and honey cure, but does anyone have any other sure-fire ways to get it back? Thanks guys, I know I can always count on you.

Tink2002
01-18-2009, 01:01 PM
I'm a speech-language pathology student, so I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL yet, but I do have a little insight into the situation.

Most likely if you have been sick for a few days, the loss of your voice is due to inflammation in the larynx, and most specifically, inflamed vocal chords. Honey and lemon may make your throat feel better if it is sore, but I don't think it would really do much to bring swelling down - unfortunately you are probably just going to have to wait it out and things should start getting better within a few days. If you feel like it is getting worse or doesn't improve, though, please go see your doctor!

Something that is important to take note of, though, is to not try and strain your voice right now. If you can't speak well, don't try to force it - this will only put more strain on the vocal chords. Whispering is actually more straining than normal speech, too, so it's best to just try to be quiet until it returns to normal and grab a notepad and paper!

Hope this helps!

VWL Mom
01-18-2009, 01:27 PM
Warm pineapple juice usually relieves the swelling of swollen glands. Used it as a kid and now my kids use it. Feel better.

disneyfan328
01-18-2009, 02:13 PM
a spoonful of honey usually helps ease a sore throat and bad voice. It always works for me. If you don't want to do the spoonful, try some in some warm tea. does the trick every time.

mickeys_princess_mom
01-18-2009, 02:58 PM
Whispering is actually more straining than normal speech, too, so it's best to just try to be quiet until it returns to normal and grab a notepad and paper!!