PDA

View Full Version : best place to get fresh lobster in San Diego

Tiggerlovr9000
01-17-2009, 01:22 PM
Found great air fare to SanDiego. I get to spend one day at Disneyland:thumbsup:But I also want to try some fresh lobster. I have never done this before. Any ideas?

crazypoohbear
01-18-2009, 07:38 PM
I didn't think that California had fresh lobster :D
"real good lobster" comes from MAINE. :number1:
I think the California lobster is rock lobster and when I had it years ago it wasn't that good, but I grew up on the east coast :blush:
Good luck in your quest.
Maybe you can google seafood restaurant reviews.

ElenitaB
01-18-2009, 10:16 PM
The best lobster I had while living in San Diego/La Jolla was in Baja California, Mexico. You have to drive a few hours but it was always worth the trip. If you want to stay north of the border, check out the reviews on a restaurant review site like Yelp. And for what it's worth (I haven't been back to the area since I graduated from grad school many, many, many moons ago), one of the best places for seafood in general was Point Loma Seafood, a casual dining place with great food.

Enjoy your trip!

tinkwest
01-19-2009, 12:10 PM
If you are determined to try lobster, I would suggest Anthony's in downtown San Diego. I'm guessing the lobster is from Baja. If you want to try some good local seafood, I'm with Ellen - go to Point Loma Seafoods. Both are easy to Google.

Disdude
01-19-2009, 01:01 PM
I moved from San Diego about a year and a half ago and the only thing I miss (besides friends and family of course) is Point Loma Seafood. Excellent fish and a great place to sit and watch the boats. I grew up in Maine so I never considered getting Lobster in San Diego. My mother would bring some from Maine on dry ice when she came.

Tiggerlovr9000
01-23-2009, 11:42 PM
Sorry, I feel a little stupid. Being from the midwest I just assumed where there was an ocean you would find good lobster.:blush:Guess I will try something else..

ElenitaB