PDA

View Full Version : The Ayn Rand Man's Pre-WDW/Biz Trip

Frank Bullitt
01-13-2009, 01:50 PM
Allow me to introduce myself...
"He's just a bang beat, bell ringing, Big haul, great go, neck or nothin, rip roarin', every time a bull's eye salesman!"
I am 30 years old, work in sales management for a top-tier software development firm in the midwest, I have an MBA and a Porsche, and I am a closeted Disney Fanatic!!
My subordinates call me 'the Ayn Rand man' as a play on the Music Man, on account of the fact that I quote both Robert Preston's Harold Hill from the Music Man and 'Atlas Shrugged' in sales meetings.

How did it happen that a stereotypical 'suit' is re-living his childhood at WDW under the pretense of a business trip?

Picture if you will, the conversation:
The setting: The 'big' conference room that my firm uses to impress our high-dollar clients, wood paneling, carpet you could lose a shoe in, a fridge and a digital projector. The VP of Sales (Me) and the CEO (my boss) are discussing our long-term goals for 2009, and I've given my presentation about our new wingding product (unless you speak geekese it'll go over yer head), and he concludes with the following conversation...
CEO: By the way, we're sending you to a conference in Florida to tout this new product that's taken off here in the Midwest.
Me: Cool beans (yes I can say that to the CEO, I was with the companyit was was 5 people and he was the sales-manager/projectmanager/CEO and I was the marketing-manager/salesmanager/Account-Rep), where is it?
CEO: Well, its in Orlando, at one of the resorts in Disneyland or something
Me: (I refrained from correcting him to WDW, after he IS the CEO) alright, when do I leave?
CEO: That's what we like, a go-getter! Its the end of January, my secretary will give you your Itinerary and flight arrangements...

Needless to say after I left the meeting I went straight to my office, closed the door, made sure the blinds were drawn, then did my Disney Happy Dance :joy: