PDA

View Full Version : People make me so angry!

Dulcee
11-20-2008, 03:01 PM
Need to rant somewhere. People make me so angry.

For one of my senior projects in college we need to take saliva samples from dogs housed at homes and in shelters. I've been volunteering at the local shelter to my college for a few years now. On our trip out today I was just completely sickened as to the reasons some of the dogs were in the shelter. One gorgeous border collie's card read "too much puppy for his family..." If people are going to make the very big step of bringing a new dog into a house why don't they look into the breed they are buying and understand what comes with bringing essentially a very rambuncious 3 year old into their house! :confused:

And then there was the 13 year old sheepdog who just looked so tired and sad who was abandoned there after his owner died and no relatives would take him in.

And the one that may have set off this entire rant was the 6 month old pitbull puppy with massive burns down her back, face and paws, a relic of her previous owner who she was siezed from :mad:. I sat with her outside for twenty minutes before she'd come out from her hiding spot and even approach me. After an hour of gently talking to she curled up next to me and fell asleep, content just to have someone to lay against.

I am an animal lover, my dog is a part of my family. :shake:I can't imagine how people do this. It makes me sick to my stomach. :soapbox: I'll stop now but if any of you out there are dog lovers, especially during this holiday season, try to remember your local shelters, they are really the last hope for so many animals who deserved so much better. :dog::cat::puppy:

SBETigg
11-20-2008, 03:33 PM
Heartbreaking! It's so sad. How can anyone just leave a member of the family behind, or abuse a poor pet like that?

Georgesgirl1
11-20-2008, 03:46 PM