PDA

View Full Version : Leaving in 11 days and missing college classes

em-n-mia's-mommy
09-07-2008, 01:05 AM
I am leaving in 11 days for our annual disney world trip. I have come across a dilemma. I am first and foremost a mom and family is important to me. I am also a college student. Up until 2 weeks ago I was at another college and was comfortable with the idea of going to wdw during classes. Due to certain circumstances I ended up transferring to a new school in the last two weeks. A new school and new professors do not help me at all in this situation. I told one professor who has a family so she was very understanding and willing to work with me. My big dilemma is my professor for my two other classes. His attendance policy states that if I miss class I can make up the work only if there is a reasonable excuse for me missing the class. I have no problem with working ahead because I have already started, but my dilemma is there is a test the week that we are gone. My husband says to just lie to the guy, but he seems nice and I really do not believe it would be right to lie. This man does have children of his own but he seems like a stickler when it comes down to attendance. I need to tell him by tuesday that I will missing his two classes for two days. I just do not know how. I thought of just saying that I am going out of town to take care of a personal family matter, but if he asks what that personal family matter is I am not sure it would be wise to say I am going to miss your test because I am going to visit with mickey. So I am a little stressed because I carry good grades and this move was not in the picture when i made my ressies. Anyone have any advice at all?

BMan62
09-07-2008, 07:17 AM