PDA

View Full Version : Cooperstown

Nana
08-12-2008, 09:04 AM
It looks like my grandson's baseball team is going to Cooperstown next year. Has anyone gone before? Any advice? Fundraiser ideas? Places to stay, things to do. Thanks!

TexasPrincessAurora
08-12-2008, 10:04 AM
Definitely take time to go to the Baseball Hall of Fame. That is obviously the big thing to do in town. Cooperstown really is just a quaint little village. Beautiful and peaceful. We stayed at the Tunnicliff Inn...very historic and super nice people. It's right across the street from the Hall. There are lots of neat little shops and restaurants there as well.

kdsjjb
08-12-2008, 10:45 AM
Nana,

Your grandson is going to have a GREAT time.

I was a coach on an AAU team that traveled to Cooperstown back in 2002, and 2003. We went to Cooperstown Dreams Park, so I dont know much about the All Star Village, which is the other big tournament up there. We also went back two years later and played on Doubleday Field.

Your grandson will stay in the barracks with his entire team and the coaches. They usually play two games a day leading up to the tournament. It is really a great time, they get to meet kids from all over the country, and we even had a few teams from overseas.

My son, and the group of kids we took up are all going to be seniors in high school this year, and although they've all gone in different directions, that trip is something that they all still talk about when they get together.

As far as fundraising, we did the usual beef and beer, we did a few car washes, we did coin drops. candy sales, and we set up shop at the local July 4th fireworks display and sold water ice, pretzels and bottled water. We made a lot of money on that one.

Feel free to PM me if there is anything else I can tell you.

Its a lot of work to do all the fundraisng, and its a long year to prepare, but the reward in the end is well worth it.

crazypoohbear
08-12-2008, 10:46 AM