PDA

View Full Version : BandMan Pretrip Report

BandMan
08-06-2008, 01:14 PM
Well, it’s a week before we leave, and I’m already having trouble sleeping. This will be my third trip to WDW, my family’s second. I’m a high school band director in rural WI, and my first trip was back in 1996 with my band. It was wonderful, but all too brief.

My wife and I have four children – DD15, DS13, DS11 and DD6. Both boys have autism, which presents a daily challenge to our lives. Our best friends since college are Disney fanatics. In the past 25 years they have been to WDW around 30 times.

Two years ago, DW and I decided that when I finished my master’s degree, we’d take the family to WDW as a reward. (I had been gone a lot of nights and weekends for 3 years. :pout:) When our friends found out, they decided they’d go along. They also graciously gave us their DVC at cost so we could economically house our family of 6 at Old Key West. :heart: They took a smaller place just around the corner.

We had the time of our lives, and fell in love with Disney as a family. :cloud9: What’s more, the WDW magic seemed to be therapeutic for the boys. DS#2 especially started to talk more after that trip. Now it is 2 years later and we can’t wait to get back.

We’ll be traveling with our friends again, although we’re not staying on property. They offered us the same deal, but we just didn’t want to take advantage of them. Our friends are great to travel with. We stay together when we feel like it, separate other times, and nobody gets offended. They have DS18 and DS15, who are old hands at WDW. Since our kids are younger, we hit some of the more kid-oriented stuff they tend to skip. Also, we can send DD 15 with them if she gets bored with the rest of us.