PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Family Vacation in Disney?

DopeysMom
07-25-2008, 03:31 PM
Ok, I am a true Newbie. I last went to WDW in 1985 or so--Epcot was not finished yet!

I now have 2 sons, 4 and 2, and am planning a trip to WDW hopefully for May, 2010. I will have lots of questions in the coming months.

My immediate question may be somewhat etiquette based, but also based on your vast planning experiences.
I have a bro who also has 2 sons, currently 3 and newborn. We have talked in the past about going to WDW all together, but that was before the newborn.

Is it in poor taste to plan our vacation and say "here's our plan, we'd love for you to join us" without consulting them first? I love my nephews, but I don't want the then 2 yo's needs to be the basis of my vacation, you know what I mean? I'm waiting (very impatiently!!) to do Disney until we're past the diapers and daily naps.

How much of a hassle is it to book a group of 8 (or 10, or 12, depending on grandparents)?
Is it hard to make separate reservations and then try to be near each other?

Just looking for feedback. . .I have not planned anything definite but just looking into the how to plan.

Tnx in advance!

MississippiDisneyFreak
07-25-2008, 04:12 PM
:) After reading trip reports and hearing other friends stories my suggestion would be

Tell them upfront when you want to go and tell them you would be happy for them to go at the same time but feel its best to make separate reservations, ADR's etc....that way, you can meet up at the park when its convenient but nobody's under pressure to meet at this time and show up for this ADR or nobody will be mad when they cancel and ruin your plans....you could even leave one TS meal open and try to get together for one special meal....They probably will be relieved that the pressure is off too

WishingStar2006
07-25-2008, 04:59 PM
I agree with the previous poster.