PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, need some help

sweetmom
07-14-2008, 02:42 PM
Hi there,
I am a newbie as we have never taken a disney cruise or any other cruise for that matter. My friends just came back from a disney cruise and they had a blast. So we want to book one. I have some questions and would really appreciate some help. We are thinking of booking a cruise for 2009 or 2010

1) My kids aren't in school yet so we can go pretty much anytime of the year. We live only an hour away from Port Canaveral. What is the best time of the year to go on a Disney cruise. I am thinking when school is in session for lower crowds but we also want to be able to swim and snorkle and since we live in Florida, we really do not swim until the water and weather is warm enough. So please help narrow down some months

2) How far ahead is it recommended to book it? Where is the best place to book it? If I do it through the Disney site, can I request a specific room and how do I do that?

3) If I were to rquest a room, what would it be? We are two adults and two little ones under the age of 3. I am thinking category 7 and up but not something like cat 1

4) Where can I find the prices and is there any discounts for AP holders, florida residents or AAA members? Which one is better?

5) When do I make reservations for restaurants and shows?

6) We are thinking of a 7 night eastern or western carribean.

Thanks so much for all your help

TammiMcMan
07-14-2008, 04:02 PM
1) My kids aren't in school yet so we can go pretty much anytime of the year. We live only an hour away from Port Canaveral. What is the best time of the year to go on a Disney cruise.Least expensive is usually the fall due to hurricane season. Lower occupancy as well, because kids are back in school. Early May is also another good time to cruise. No worries about storms or cold fronts.