PDA

View Full Version : Bank Account Troubles

DisneyOtaku
07-08-2008, 03:56 PM
I am a very poor college student who is trying to pay her way through grad school, so I need every penny I can get. So imagine my surprise when I checked my account this morning and saw an unauthorized purchase of over 60 dollars :mad:

I called the establishment only to be greeted by an answering machine. Some "Direct Connections" in Northern Georgia...and I live in Louisiana. But it seems this has been happening alot, because the message says that if I need a refund of an anauthorized purchase to send my bank statement in to them. I also went ahead and reported my card number stolen (heavens knows how they got my old number) so I got a new card on the way in over a week.

I just needed to rant a little because it's so annoying. Has anything like this happened to anyone else on Intercot before?

d_m_n_n
07-08-2008, 04:00 PM
I would check into this a little further...maybe with the state attorney general? Something where they say "send us your bank statement" says crooked all over it to me!

DisneyOtaku
07-08-2008, 04:06 PM
I would check into this a little further...maybe with the state attorney general? Something where they say "send us your bank statement" says crooked all over it to me!

Well, they said send in a recipt but all I have is my bank account. And I am a little worried about that. So I'm waiting for my dad to come home on Thursday so he can call and check it out himself. If he doesn't like it either, we're heaving to my bank and see what they can do. But I had to go ahead and cancel my card--you never know.

Tick-Tock
07-08-2008, 04:07 PM
I wouldn't be sending my bank statement to any company. They do not need to see your bank statement to refund an unauthorized purchase. Sounds like a phishing scam.

I would be dealing only with my bank on this.

MegaDisney
07-08-2008, 04:08 PM
I assume you didn't send them the statement.