PDA

View Full Version : OCD advice

alex61821
06-17-2008, 03:06 PM
our ds age 13 is developing signs of obsessive complusive disorder and i went to talk to a therapist today to talk about how to deal with it. i do not know anything about the disorder other than what i have seen on TV. i do not know what will happen from here. i am not sure how to convince him that he needs help that his parents are not capable of giving him. this fella pretty much sums it all up :confused:

KineGirl
06-17-2008, 03:42 PM
Of course Im no professional....

I have a cousin who has dealt with some serious OCD issues and the only thing I know for sure is the your son probably needs therapy before it gets out of hand. Usually, from what I understand, its of the behavioral sort. For example, if its a germ phobia the therapist may have them make a sandwich on a counter top & eat it to show that they will be ok or even if its unusual like "if I dont turn the lights on & off 5 times before I leave something will happen to my Mom" - they have them go through all the motions to show them the fear is unfounded as well as any psychological issues the person may have. Even though its scary to watch them go through panic attacks when theyre not allowed to be OC, it does them no favors to "help"them with it either. Of course, again this is not advice (seek that from a pro) just what I witnessed. My cousin still slightly struggles after being allowed and even helped to go completely OC by her Mom until she was 22, and then therapy for 1 year or so but she is so much happier and def much less OC.

Hang in there :hug:

citizensnoopy
06-17-2008, 04:15 PM
Hey there,