PDA

View Full Version : McGoofy & Family's Summer Vacation (with pics and videos) DAYS 1 and 2

McGoofy
06-11-2008, 08:46 PM
Dates: Wednesday, May 28 - Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Cast of Characters: McGoofy (me, Tara) 37, DH 36, and DS, Birthday Boy turning 10

Don't you hear it in your head? It's the HSM song playing, "What time is it? Summertime! It’s our vacation...." My son finished the 4th grade on May 28th. We wanted to get down to WDW as early in the summer as possible in order to avoid massive crowds and intense summer heat. We decided to leave town the day he finished school. So....here it is...the trip report from our week of summer vacation at WDW.

Day Number 1:
I am a nurse, and I work 12 hour night shifts twice a week. In order to get my time in on the pay period, I had to work the two nights prior to our vacation. I was like a big kid all night long on the last night. I was counting down the hours until I could clock out and go to WDW. The other nurses were laughing at me. You could have made a commercial out of it. As soon as I came home, I cleaned up, took care of a few last minute details, and we went to the school to pick up our son and say our goodbyes to his teacher. By time all was said and done, we were on the road by 9:30am. The plan was to sleep in the car, but I was too hyped up! I could not sleep. Finally, somewhere near the South Carolina/Georgia border, I finally fell asleep. A little while later I awoke. I thought I had been asleep a long time, and then I realized that we were only in Brunswick, GA, and it was only 12:00pm! Since I was now awake, we decided to stop for lunch. After that, we pressed on. We kept making all sorts of stops. We stopped at the Florida welcome station. My DS loves to stop there for 2 reasons. They hand out free orange juice, and they have Disney time guides. It's our first little hint of Disney along the way. He likes to read the times of things that are going on during the dates we will be there and form plans