PDA

View Full Version : Moving to Boston. Help!

The Flying Dutchman
06-05-2008, 03:53 PM
Hey all. As some of you know, I am a graduate student at Purdue University. I am set to graduate at the end of July/beginning of August and was just offered a position with a pharmaceutical company located in Cambridge, MA. The Mrs. and I have lived in MN and IN for the past 7 years and while looking at places out in the Boston Area, we have experienced definite sticker shock when seeing the cost of living.
So, I was hoping some of you fellow disney-lovin' folk would be willing to help us out. If you have any suggestions as to where to look for a place to live or any places to avoid, please post them! With the price of living inside of Boston so high, I believe that I am going to commute to work each day via the commuter train, so all outlying communities are fair game. Also, while we know we will have to rent at least to start out for the first couple of months, we are also looking to buy our first home (tired of throwing out rent money and gaining no equity in return!), so any advice for buying the in the Boston area would also be appreciated.
Anything you can tell me would be great! We are both basically newbies when it comes to that area of the country, so any hints/warnings are requested.
Thanks in advance :mickey:

Scar
06-05-2008, 04:31 PM
I'm not too familiar with Boston, but I have heard of one place to avoid:

Lynn, Lynn, the city of sin,
You never come out the way you went in. ;)

(Note to any residents of Lynn: Please accept my apology for the poor joke, I couldn't resist.)

crazypoohbear
06-05-2008, 04:40 PM
Welcome to taxachusetts!! It's expensive here and only getting worse!

First of all you should know that the commuter train has been in the news alot lately, for being so bad :( it is notoriously late or doesn't show up at all!