PDA

View Full Version : Should I say something?

Dakota Rose
06-03-2008, 04:38 PM
About 3 weeks ago, my friend Carol's mom insulted my DH very deeply. He was devastated and I was also hurt and angered.

It's put a strain on our friendship tho' neither of us have acknowledged it happened. Our kids are best friends and we share a close friend, Addie. Addie's the friend you can say anything to, while Carol is easily offended. I purposefully didn't say anything to Addie about it b/c I didn't want to get her in the middle, but Addie mentioned that Carol told her what happened.

So, should I say something? I'm not good at confrontation, so my thought was to email Carol and say something like, "I don't want things between us to be awkward. The situation between your DM and my DH is not a good one but I don't want that to affect our friendship. I hope you feel the same."

I've thought about talking to Addie about it, but I really don't want to put her in the middle. I know Carol will tell her about it anyway.

So, what do you think?

Jen C.
06-03-2008, 05:12 PM
I agree with keeping Addie out of the middle. I, too, hate confrontations. I think the e-mai you proposed though sounds very good. Just acknowledging it, but stating that you aren't willing to let that come between you is super. Your friend is probably mortified by her mothers behavior and very embarrased. I think the e-mail is the best idea.:thumbsup:

Good Luck!;)

AuntDJ
06-03-2008, 05:16 PM
Here is my two cents....I really dislike email..I was going to say hate, but that would be an overstatement and I know it.

So the thing with email is..you cannot read a tone. So you may mean the email to be light and airy, but when I read it, if I am not in a good mood or am expecting you to be upset, that is the "tone" I will read the email in.

Whether you mean it bad or good, you cannot tell that in an email.

I think if Carol is as good a friend as it seems, then maybe you could have lunch or call her and just say hey...