PDA

View Full Version : I'm an Interior Designer!

kaerbear178
05-18-2008, 10:47 PM
I just graduated on Friday with a BFA in Interior Design--5 years of night school. I also currently work in the tile industry helping home owners with their tile and stone selections. I have seen a lot (mainly in the way of frustrated home owners) :blowup: and was wondering if anyone would like it if I started a thread with advice on what I have learned these past 5 years. I have a lot of suggestions that I think might be helpful! I just don't want to write out a bunch of tips in nobody cares! :bored: Let me know!

Mickey 101
05-19-2008, 02:00 AM
Congratulations on your degree! That sounds like a lot of hard work.

What new trends do you see in flooring? What are the most common mistakes people make when selecting tile?

disneydeb
05-19-2008, 06:54 AM
Congratulations!

Thanks for the advice offer!

MsMin
05-19-2008, 10:08 AM
Congrats! on your degree :party2: My dd has a BFA too but specializing in graphic design.
Currently my parents have purchased a condo on Orange Beach and I am decorating the place. My dd will help me w/ the colors and I had 1 interior design class in college so I know the basics but I have plenty of questions.

WINDOW TREATMENT.... YUCK ---- how do I cover the windows and keep the view. I have thought of bamboo or blinds... Here is the problem. My brother had a condo and had vertical blinds and when you open the door to the balcony the wind draws the blinds out and they were always broken. He replaced them with curtains that are always sucked out too and caught and torn in the glass doors. The place sleeps 8 and has a sofa bed in the living room. --- I say we could just provide sleep masks ;) Part of the allure is to see the view-- so I don't want it all covered up. What do you think?
Congrats again .... and I love talking about Interior design! :grad:

kaerbear178
05-19-2008, 11:29 AM
What new trends do you see in flooring?