PDA

View Full Version : A Little Preliminary Advise...

monkeycity
05-12-2008, 12:05 PM
Sorry, this may take a moment to set up, but I believe you need this background info to understand the problem:

I have been in college as a non-traditional student for the past 4 years, attending nights and summers majoring in elementary education. I want to be a 3rd or 4th grade teacher. :thumbsup: I currently work full-time as a sign language interpreter in an elementary school, have been married :cloud9: 12 years, and I have two young children (DS6 and DD9). Six years ago we began buying our house with HUD/FHA, which required us to remain in it for at least 7 years. We've paid off one of our cars, and we've lowered our debt/income ratio considerably. We are now living in NW Arkansas, which is a nice place in many ways, but not our favorite. Between my allergies and my wife's family, we've decided it might be better to relocate. I will finish my schooling in two years :D, and it will be a really good time, I think, to consider a new start. I love Florida, and the wife has always been hesitant about it, but last week, she said to me, "I would consider northern Florida." I of course asked if she was toying with my emotions, and she said she was serious. Northern Florida, to her, is anything from Ocala north. I jumped at the chance and have been doing heavy research ever since.

My question(s) for any out there that might know: Do teachers get paid fairly well in Florida (here in NW Arkansas they start around $38,000 - a fairly well-paying job in my opinion)? What's the cost of living like in Florida? Gas? Food? Housing market - we need at least 3 bedrooms. We have been considering buying a new double wide and putting it on a lot. Is that a good idea? Any and all information about moving and relocating would be helpful from all of you!