PDA

View Full Version : Any Graphic Designers Out There?

liloloveselvis
04-28-2008, 03:54 PM
Hi All-

So I need some educational advice. I currently work in television, but am hoping to change careers and go into graphic design. Luckilly I live in New York City, so there are plently of places to take classes. The problem is I have no idea how serious a degree I need. Can you work in the graphic design field with a certificate, or associates, or does it need to be a full on bachelors (keep in mind I already have a bachelors degree in film & television). Anyway, what I want to know is how important having a degree is in graphic deign. Any advice anyone could give me would be greatly appreciated. Right now I'm overwhelmed with education options, so I would love help or suggestions.

Thanks!

Dracula766
04-29-2008, 12:18 AM
I have an associates degree in visual communications and I've been in the Biz for over 10 years.

I would say that if you are looking to work in a very corporate environment then they might be looking more at your degree. If you are looking into something more like marketing or entertainment or anywhere that you will have to be very creative in your thinking then all you need is a really the proper skill sets and strong portfolio that shows what you can do.

DisneyDog
04-29-2008, 10:03 AM
I sent you a PM.

LauraF
04-29-2008, 10:24 AM
:raises hand:

You can have a degree in graphic design, computer design or fine art to get into the field. (I was the latter, but I concentrated in computer design in school). Most of my coworkers had bachelors in art and occasionally went on for further certification classes for special techniques.

It depends on what kind of designer you want to be. Do you want to be:

a production artist - does the really basics of page layout dirty work or replicating a major design into 500 different sizes, formats, colors and separations. (Perfect for associate degree folks)