PDA

View Full Version : Snorkelling and Underwater Cameras

DakotaDisney
03-09-2008, 10:36 PM
Couple questions:

1. Are there any policies about taking pictures underwater while snorkeling at Castaway Cay?

2. Any recomendations for underwater cameras? Anyone ever tried those disposable underwater cameras or are there any other types of underwater cameras, especially digital, that are good, but don't cost a lot?

I think it would be fun to try taking a few pictures, but I have never done it before. I imagine you have to have a really expensive camera to get really good pictures.

Just curious, thanks.

Ed
03-10-2008, 10:54 AM
Absolutely! In fact, there are many "artifacts" underwater in the snorkeling area that make for interesting pictures, such as plaques, statues, and even an old 20K Leagues submarine. And the water is incredibly clear almost all the time.

I've seen some pix taken with the disposable underwater cameras, and they come out pretty good. Haven't used one myself, though.

You can buy special underwater digital cameras (think Big $$$) or waterproof casings or transparent waterproof bags into which you put your own camera. But again, I haven't tried them personally.

The disposables are available on the island at She Sells Sea Shells (whew, that's a mouthful!)

:diver:

ElenitaB
03-10-2008, 12:01 PM
Target and BestBuy also have the disposable cameras (and the pre-planning can save you quite a bit). We had two with us on our last trip, but we ended up not going in the water so I passed them on to another family (rather than see them go to waste).

JerseyDad
03-10-2008, 12:29 PM
...Castaway Cay is a great place for underwater photography...the fish are incredible...as are the underwater artifacts as was mentioned earlier.