PDA

View Full Version : Pure Magic - Day 1

mjesq
02-08-2008, 09:52 PM
(This is my first attempt at a "Trip Report" so bear with me here ...)

Cast:
Me - Just turned 40 (God help me!)
DH - 40
DD - 7
DS - 4 1/2

Accomodations : Best non- concierge room at Wilderness Lodge!

We woke up at 3:45am in our hotel room by the airport to catch the shuttle for our 6:15 flight. Cold? Hmmm... :freeze: -35 wind chill and we decided to leave the coats in the car... The connection in Chicago had the longest, coldest jetway on record!

Onward... We arrived in Orlando right on time and were wisked "home" to the Wilderness. A little less than an hour after landing, we were in our room! (we landed at 11:45, in the room around 12:25pm) Garden Grocer had already delivered so we picked up our food and stashed it away.

Here's where I have to stop and describe this room. Regular room, it seemed - until I stepped out onto the balcony! There, in a break in the trees, was the CASTLE!:magic:
I got up in the middle of the night almost every night and just stared at it as it changed colors.

We waited a short time for our luggage. I went down and got our mugs and a couple of sodas, while the kids and DH unwound from the trip. We decided to take the boat over to the MK to just look around, get the lay of the land for the next days excursion ...

However, the park was almost EMPTY! We walked on Buzz Lightyear - twice. We waited about 10 minutes total for the Speedway . Then Pooh and the Teacups (I almost got sick:sick:) Next was Dumbo then Mickey's Philharmagic. LOVED Philharmagic! It was amazing!

Dinner was CS at Cosmic Rays. The food was surprisingly good (burgers, hot dogs, fries...)DH had left the autograph books we just bought in the bathroom and due to some serious Disney magic, they were in lost & found!