PDA

View Full Version : I'm Headed Back to School

Cinderelley
01-17-2008, 06:32 PM
Well, after several, several months of soul-searching, I've decided to head back to school to become a nursing instructor. Going through nursing school was a horrible experience for me, and it seems to be that way all across the country from what I've learned by talking to several nurses. It shouldn't be like that.

I was an EMT first and that type of education was phenomenal. So, I decided that I would become a nursing instructor to introduce that type of environment. I know I can't make a difference in all the nursing schools, but I can make a difference for a few students.

The problem is - I have to get my master's degree. That means subjecting myself to the same horrible things that I'll be trying to change. Wish me luck and send lots of pixie dust :D .

ElenitaB
01-17-2008, 07:52 PM
:pixie: for your endeavor! With the goal you have in mind, I hope that your experience is better in grad school than it was as an undergrad.

pink
01-17-2008, 08:15 PM
I'm glad you're giving it a second chance and I wish you the best of luck this time around! :mickey:

PirateLover
01-17-2008, 08:17 PM
Congratulations and good luck! What a great goal to have.

Jeff
01-18-2008, 09:02 AM
Good luck!:thumbsup:

ncscgirl2005
01-18-2008, 10:41 AM
Good Luck Cindy! I can tell you that nursing school is hard here too!

MsMin
01-18-2008, 11:48 AM
:pixie: Sounds exciting. I made friends w/ a woman who was working on her PhD and was a nursing instructor @ one of the schools here. We were taking stats together. I'm kinda weird b/c I love stats :blush: Psychology is similar in regards to the types of research you will be looking at and conducting. In fact, in my Thesis, I used a health model and applied it to eating disorders. I worked for a Clinical Psychologist in N.O. when I was an U/G who was @ LSUMC and we did research at the Stanley S. Scott cancer center.