PDA

View Full Version : One night in Chicago ...

zaneymax
12-28-2007, 09:09 PM
Hello!

DH has surpised me with an overnight stay in Jan. :freeze: in Chicago with seats at the play Wicked :joy:. We live in MI and plan to drive :car: from here to there on a Sat. morning and to return sometime Sun. afternoon. He has also made ressies at the Sheraton Hotel & Towers for our night there.

Here are my questions: Where should we eat dinner before the theatre? I would like to try an authentic Chicago deep dish pizza. :cheers: We like Mexican food and "easy food" - nothing too fancy or expensive.

Also, what should we do during the day? I would like to see Navy Pier and the Sears Tower.

What is your advice? I am a pro when it comes to planning our Disney trips, but I feel like a fish out of water with this one. :blush: I have so little time to plan! Thanks in advance for your help and opinions! BTW - I loved his Christmas gift - a night away to be Wicked with only him! :heart:

Thanks!
Gina

IceRef
12-28-2007, 11:35 PM
Zaneymax:

Hope to contribute a little at least to your question, as we attack the city from Northern Wisconsin now and then.

For the scenic view and ease of moving around, the location of the Sheraton puts you closer to the John Hancock Building on Michigan Ave, and within a decent walk of Navy Pier (which might not be all you think it might be, especially in the winter months). The view from the observation floor there can be even better than Sears Tower due to its proximity to the lakes shore line. It is also a much easier walk from the Sheraton, and saves a cab fare to the west side of the Loop to catch Sears Tower. If you have not done this before, check out the stones from around the world which are implanted in the wall of the Tribune Tower as you walk Michigan Ave.